2023 Perse Rouse Award winners announced

The 2023 Rouse Award judging panel (from L-R): Dr Samuel Black, Dr Alex Loktionov, Professor Alex Oliver, Dr Jonathan Shanahan, Dr Matthew Kenzie, Dr Fran Henson

The winners of the 2023 Rouse Award have been praised for the university-level standard of their research projects.

The Rouse Award is an internally-assessed independent research programme for Lower Sixth students in which subject specialist teachers help guide their investigations.

A panel featuring renowned academics, including Perse Governor Professor Alex Oliver, Dr Matthew Kenzie (OP 2005), Dr Alex Loktionov (OP 2011), Dr Fran Henson, Dr Samuel Black and Dr Jonathan Shanahan, judged the 12 shortlisted entries before deciding upon the winners.

The 2023 winners are:
* Bibi Elliott – What type of borrowing from English has the greatest impact on the modern French language?
* James MacGillivray – Polio eradication: An evaluation of the most important strategies for the future.
* Natalie Ronco – Measuring gender bias in machine translation beyond sentence level.
* Daniel Myhill – Creating a simple central processing unit using a field-programmable gate array.

Perse Head of Research Hazel Knight commented: “The panel was hugely impressed with this year’s projects, drawing parallels between the projects and undergraduate work.

“They felt the students interviewed very well, defending their positions but showing pleasing flexibility when responding to challenges and new ideas.

“Just to reach the panel stage is a fantastic achievement with over 150 Rouse projects completed last year. Congratulations to all the finalists and to our winners, Bibi, James, Natalie and Daniel.”

Discover more about independent research opportunities at The Perse on our dedicated Perse Research website.


Designed by Svelte Design | Built by Highrise Digital