The Perse School

Doug Collard’s Testimonial Match

25 June 2017

A celebration of service.

On Sunday 25 June, OPs, staff and friends of the School came together for a cricket match in celebration of Doug’s 38 years at the Perse.

Match reports by Ravi Mahendra:

The morning began with the annual OP Cricket match, with a team of younger Old Perseans taking on the 1st XI in a bid to regain the title from the School team. The OPs batted first and posted a good total 178-6 off their allotted 20 overs, with former 1st XI captain Chris Pepper top scoring with 69 off 47 balls. He was helped by Nick Taylor (48) who was in form after guiding Oxford University to a win in the varsity match earlier in the week. Zaman Akhter was once again the pick of the bowlers for the 1st XI taking 3 for 18.

The 1st XI didn’t make the best of starts losing both openers to the bowling of Josh Gray, however captain Sacha Abbasi and Jack Meakin began to bludgeon the ball to the boundary with scores of 26 and 33 respectively. Nikhil Gorantla (Y9) also contributed with a quick 20 off 13 balls to help the 1st XI to a respectable 150 all out from their allotted 20 overs. Wickets were shared amongst the Old Perseans, with 2 wickets a piece for Josh Gray, Alex Jackson, Rajen Mahendra and John Howe.

After the teams broke for lunch, it was time for Doug’s specially selected XI to step up to the wicket and take on a second team of Old Perseans from across Doug’s time at the School. Doug won the toss and elected to bowl. OPs Will Hammond and Remiell Ragnauth got off to a steady start until Gareth Machin removed Hammond on 17. Pete Richer (17) and Russel Doel (16) helped the score along, however it was Ed Pearson (54) and Ragnauth (70) who were the pick of the batsmen as they helped the Old Perseans to a score of 187-5 off 30 overs.

The Collard XI lost two quick wickets, Nigel Gadsby and former cricket master Gareth Roots out off the bowling of Matthew Swann and Duncan Howells. Jeremy Burrows (28) and another former cricket master Ed Wiseman (18) steadied the ship before Wiseman was bowled by Alex Stafford. Ben Creese (capt. 2010) came to the crease and despite not picking up a cricket bat for 6 years mastered is way to a stylish 50 before eventually being bowled by Russel Doel. The rest of the batting line up unfortunately were not able to offer much resistance as Ed Pearson collected 5 wickets finishing with 5-8 off 5 overs. Doug Collard remained 7 not out at the end of play and received a standing ovation as he walked off the pitch by his former students, colleagues, family and friends, a fitting way to end 38 years of service to the school.

Many thanks to all the Old Perseans, Staff, Family and Friends who made the time to come attend on the day. It was a fantastic occasion and the level of cricket on display was of the highest standard (in parts!!). A big thank you as well to the grounds staff for preparing the pitch and making the ground look so good on the day.

Doug said “Thank you very much for a wonderful day, it was a day I will always treasure. It was so lovely to see so many friends, Old Perseans and their families. Lin and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day and it felt great to be on the cricket field myself after so long. Lin is pleased that I didn’t break anything and I’m glad I don’t ache too much! Please everybody keep in touch and we hope to see some of you again soon.”

Team Sheets

1st XI
Jack Meakin
Sacha Abbasi*
Zaman Ahkter
Alex Lockie
Mo Dawoodbhoy
Ben Cross
Nikhil Gorantla
George Doel
Alex Coles
David Shaw
Ben Aho
OP Team 1
Josh Gray (2013)
John Howe (2014)
Alex Jackson (2014)
Akbar Akhter (2015)
Mihir Chandraker (2016)
Will Wright (2012)
Tom Sherwin (2012)
Rajen Mahendra (2010)
Chris Pepper* (2015)
Nick Taylor (2014)
Ishmael Baksh (2011)
Michael Pepper (2016)
OP Team 2
Edward Pearson (2006)
Alex Stafford (2009)
Reimell Ragnauth (1993)
Peter Richer (2010)
Duncan Howells (2005)
Russel Doel (1985)
Matt Swann (2008)
Nick McLellan* (2008)
Daniel Young (1990)
Will Hammond (2006)
Doug’s XI
Tom Dann
Ravi Mahendra
Nigel Gadsby
Jeremy Burrows
George Pearson (1975)
Gareth Roots
Gareth Machin
Ed Wiseman (1992)
Douglas Collard*
Dan Cross
Ben Creese (2010)
Calendar Site Search